Network Development

July 2018

Siteman Cancer Center broke ground in north St. Louis County on its newest outpatient facility. The $26.3 million facility will feature a new linear accelerator and is on track to be completed by December 2019.

August 2018

Siteman Cancer Center opened its first treatment center in Illinois, broadening access to care and clinical trials for residents of southern Illinois, central Illinois, and beyond. 

October 2018

We announced that the new form of proton therapy, known as pencil-beam scanning, will be available at Siteman Cancer Center in early 2020. Construction will begin early next year.

Honors and Recognition

April 2018

Nichole Maughan, PhD, one of our medical physics residents, placed first at the 2018 Spring Meeting of the Missouri River Valley chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM). 

October 2018

Walter Bosch, DSc, an Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology, was elected a fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine. 

Research Awards

June 2018

Stephanie Markovina, MD, PhD, an Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, received $277,960 for her research on Squamous Cell Carcinoma Antigen and Lysosomal Cell Death in Radiation Resistance.

August 2018

Hong Chen, PhD, received a $2.7 million grant from the National Institutes of Health’s Brain Initiative to develop a non-invasive neuromodulation tool that works on the cellular level and uses focused ultrasound, operating with high spatiotemporal precision.

October 2018

Carl DeSelm, MD, PhD, was honored by the National Institutes of Health with the NIH Director’s Early Independence Award. This $1.25 million award went to his research focused in CAR-monocyte therapy.

Additional Grants

– Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD
– 2 awards totaling $150,000
– SCC SPORE, Cancer Research Foundation

– David T. Curiel, MD, PhD
– 7 awards totaling $1.3 Million
– DOD Pilot, STTR, LESP, Missouri Spinal, BJHF, UG3 Supplement, Alvin J Siteman

– Arash Darafsheh, PhD
– 2 awards totaling $30,000
– AAPM Student, AAPM Seed Fund

– Hua Li, PhD
– Perry W. Grigsby, MD, MS, MBA, FACR
– 1 award totaling $373,203
– R21

– Clifford G. Robinson, MD
– Geoffrey Hugo, PhD
– 1 award totaling $50,000

– Julie K. Schwarz, MD, PhD
– 2 awards totaling $311,616
– Goldman Sachs Philanthropy, SIP

– Xiaowei Wang, PhD
– 2 awards totaling $383,788
– STTR, R01 Supplement

– Buck Rogers, PhD
– 3 awards totaling $679,468
– SIP, Goldman Sachs Philanthropy, ICTS

– Dennis E. Hallahan, MD, FASTRO
– Qin Yang, MD, PhD
– 1 award totaling $1.6 Million
– R01

– Tiezhi Zhang, PhD
– 2 awards totaling $168,811

In The News

February 2018

An article featuring Brian Baumann, MD, as senior author was highlighted in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) Surgery.The article discusses aclinical trial that demonstrates benefits for post-operative radiation therapy in bladder cancer patients.

February 2018

Julie Schwarz, MD, PhD, Ramachandran Rashmi, PhD, and their colleagues exploited cancer cell metabolism to kill cervical tumors that are resistant to standard chemotherapy and radiation.

March 2018

David T Curiel, MD, PhD, and his team combined the gene-editing tool CRISPR with a deactivated virus to deliver a healthy gene to a precise location in the bodies of living mice.

June 2018

Clifford Robinson, MD, along with Phillip Cuculich, MD, successfully treated a patient with ventricular tachycardia by using radiation therapy.

November 2018

Baozhou Sun, PhD, and colleagues proposed the use of a mobile helical CT (mCT) scanner to provide 3D volumetric imaging for image-guided and adaptive proton therapy. 

Also This Year…

5,000th gamma knife patient treated

5 years celebrated at South County 

Our focus on education