Department News

Yang named Residency Program Director

We are pleased to announce that Joanna C. Yang, MD, MPH, has been appointed Program Director of our 4-year ACGME-accredited Radiation Oncology Residency Training Program.

Dr. Yang earned her medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine, where she graduated with Distinction in Medical Education and in Research. She went on to complete a Transitional Year Internship and Radiation Oncology Residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. At MSKCC, Dr. Yang served as chief resident and completed a lymphoma fellowship, during which time she also earned an MPH from the Harvard School of Public Health in the Clinical Effectiveness Track.  Dr. Yang also serves as Chief of our Lymphoma service.

Stephanie Perkins, MD, has recently stepped down from her role as Residency Program Director in order to devote more time to her roles as Director of the S. Lee Kling Proton Therapy Center and Chief of Pediatric Radiotherapy.  Under her leadership, the residency program has grown, strengthened, and graduated outstanding leaders in the field. 

Thank you, Dr. Perkins, and welcome, Dr. Yang!