The Department of Radiation Oncology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis has been a longstanding leader in advancing the field of radiation oncology services in the region and nationally. We offer innovative care, and are a national leader in many areas of patient care, along with clinical trials research and QA. We are dedicated to improving patient care through innovation and technological development, and have strong academic and clinical partners throughout the School of Medicine. We are connected to a forward-thinking and supportive hospital partner, Barnes-Jewish Hospital/BJC HealthCare, and we are proudly affiliated with the Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center. Siteman Cancer Center is a National Cancer Institute supported comprehensive cancer center, an honor given to organizations that provide world-class comprehensive care, perform extensive cancer research, and provide active community education programs.

Our department is committed to its patients in all aspects of cancer care. Our nationally and internationally recognized faculty provide leadership in Siteman Cancer Center and contribute significantly to developmental therapeutic and clinical trials research.

Research and development is emphasized throughout all of our divisions. Faculty develop new technology in areas of patient care, quality assurance and safety, radiation devices, new cancer drugs and new diagnostic tools, such as biomarkers, to predict cancer outcome. Faculty within the department have licensed several new technologies industry and created 12 new start-up companies to develop novel treatment strategies.

Our educational programs are extensive and include clinical residencies in radiation and medical physics that attract the brightest and most qualified candidates. We also provide a curriculum for graduate education in medical physics, in addition to providing training for medical students, dosimetrists, and radiation therapists.

I am proud to lead this exceptional department, and I look forward to our continued achievements in the years to come.

Dr Hallahan on WUSM campus

Dennis E. Hallahan, MD, FASTRO
Elizabeth H. and James S. McDonnell III Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Chairman, Department of Radiation Oncology