Chaudhuri named Michael Fry Research Award winner

Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD was just awarded the 2022 Michael Fry Research Award from the Radiation Research Society, which recognizes an individual early in their career who has made significant contributions in one or more areas of radiation oncology research. Dr. Chaudhuri will deliver the Michael Fry Award Lecture at the Radiation Research Society’s annual […]

Hao Receives Grant

Principal Investigator:  Yao Hao, PhD, with Tianyu Zhao, PhD, and external collaborator Sarah Patch, PhD Title:   Thermoacoustic Range Verification During Delivery of a Clinical Plan by a Synchrocyclotron: transition from research prototype to turnkey clinical device Funding Agency:   NIH/NCI Amount:   $1.98M Start Date & Duration:   April 15, 2022 (2 years)

Radiation Oncology Wins Big in the Institute for Informatics Big Ideas Competition

“Expediting Radiotherapy Initiation via a Stimulation Free Workflow,” led by Tianyu Zhao, PhD, team leader, was one of six teams chosen as the winners of “Big Ideas: A Data-Driven Innovation Competition” held by Washington University’s Institute for Informatics. The intent of the Big Ideas Program is to support novel and innovative projects that are clinically […]

Physics initiative extends free training to low-income countries around the world

Through a collaboration between Washington University’s Global Health Center and the Brown School, with support from a seed grant from Washington University’s McDonnell International Scholars Academy, Baozhou Sun, PhD, associate professor of radiation oncology, has implemented a way to help train physicists, radiation oncologists and dosimetrists in low-income countries in the safe and efficient use […]

Curiel named to National Academy of Inventors

David Curiel, MD, a professor of radiation oncology and director of the Biologic Therapeutics Center at the School of Medicine, has harnessed gene therapy and viral vectors to develop therapeutics and vaccines for a number of diseases, including cancer, genetic disorders and COVID-19. More recently he has pioneered gene editing strategies toward gene therapy cures. […]

Schwarz elected into the American Society for Clinical Investigation

The ASCI is an honor society of physician-scientists. Founded in 1908, the Society is home to over 3,000 members active across academic medicine and industry. Julie K. Schwarz, MD, PhD, will be formally inducted during a joint meeting on April 8, 2022. Congratulations Dr. Schwarz!

Campos Guerrero highlighted in CBD trainee corner

Marlene Campos Guerrero, a graduate student researcher in the Markovina Lab is the newest cancer biology researcher to be highlighted in the Trainee Corner. Read about Marlene here.

Marlene Campos Guerrero (Graduate Student, Markovina Lab)

Tell me about your background. I am a first generation Latina raised in Kansas City, MO. I earned my Associates Degree concurrently when I graduated high school in 2016 and earned my B.S in Microbiology from Kansas State University in 2019. During my undergraduate journey, I was a part of the Developing Scholars Program, a […]

Chaudhuri highlighted by WashU Physicians

Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, is highlighted this month on the Washington University Physicians website. Read his interview here:

Hall named a 2021 Women of Achievement honoree for health advocacy

Lannis E. Hall, MD, MPH, director of radiation oncology at Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish St. Peters Hospital, has been selected as a 2021 Women of Achievement honoree. The recognition is for her commitment to improving access to cancer prevention, treatment and education – and to outcomes – in underserved communities. Read the full story and watch a […]

Sun defends thesis

Monday, December 6, Jennifer Sun, PhD, from the Azab Lab, defended her thesis “Macrophage-Based Immunotherapies for the Treatment of Multiple Myeloma”. She is in the PhD in Biomedical Engineering program and her advisor is Abdel Kareem Azab.

Perkins discusses Proton Therapy during Blues game

Monday, November 22, during the St. Louis Blues game, ESPN101 radio will air a short discussion recorded with Dr. Stephanie Perkins and Chris Kerber. Dr. Perkins talked about Proton Therapy and Siteman Kids and brought along her own son, Garrett.
This game is Hockey Fights Cancer night. All proceeds from a special theme ticket benefit Siteman Cancer Center and Blues for Kids grant program, providing funds for cancer care and awareness through not-for-profits in the St. Louis area.

Rogers announced as Fellow of Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (Links to an external site)

Buck Rogers, PhD, Professor of Radiation Oncology, was recently chosen to become a Fellow of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging.

The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging recognized 17 new SNMMI Fellows on Monday, June 14, during a plenary session at the society’s 2021 Annual Meeting, held virtually June 11-15. The SNMMI Fellowship was established in 2016 to recognize distinguished service to the society as well as exceptional achievement in the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. It is among the most prestigious formal recognitions available to long-time SNMMI members.

Forghani-Arani received ASTRO Travel Award

Farnoush Forghani-Arani, PhD, medical physics resident, received the ASTRO Annual Meeting Travel Award for her abstract entitled “Is Perfusion Dose-Response Different Than Ventilation Dose-Response for Lung Cancer Patients Treated With Radiotherapy?”. ASTRO gives out only 30 abstract awards from over 2,000 submissions each year! Congratulations Farnoush!

Maserang begins new role

We are delighted to share that Kim Maserang has accepted the role of manager of the external beam team, effective early October.  Kim will have oversight of the treatment, simulation and Brachy teams.   Kim has been with BJH for 16 years and served most recently as manager of our West County Radiation Oncology department.  […]

Chaudhuri & Hirbe receive grant

Principal Investigators:   Angela Hirbe, MD, PhD & Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD Title:   Precise diagnosis and monitoring of MPNST via cell-free DNA liquid biopsy   Funding Agency:   Children’s Discovery Institute Amount:  $450,000   Start Date & Duration:   10/1/2021 (3 years)

Yang named Residency Program Director

We are pleased to announce that Joanna C. Yang, MD, MPH, has been appointed Program Director of our 4-year ACGME-accredited Radiation Oncology Residency Training Program.