Perkins and Huang receive SIP awards

Congratulations to Stephanie Perkins, MD and Jiayi Huang, MD, who both received Siteman Investment Program grant awards this year.

Samson wins ASTRO award

Congratulations to Pamela Samson, MD, MPHS, for receiving the ASTRO Resident Recognition Award for Poster Viewing!

Prusator wins ASTRO award

Congratulations to Michael Prusator, PhD, for receiving the ASTRO Resident Recognition Award – Quick Pitch.

Blood test for metastatic prostate cancer could suggest better treatment options

A blood test developed at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis could help determine next steps for patients whose prostate cancer has spread despite treatment. Dr. Aadel Chaudhuri, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, is a co-senior author on this study. The study was just published in JCO Precision Oncology, a flagship journal from the American Society of […]

Baumann co-lead author in journal Cancer article about managing skin cancer during Covid-19

Two Washington University School of Medicine doctors were co-first authors of a commentary exploring how to assess risks in treating patients with skin cancer. Brian Baumann, MD, assistant professor of radiation oncology, and Kelly MacArthur, MD, assistant professor of dermatology, published the piece in the online June 1 issue of Cancer, the journal of the American Cancer Society.

Stanley awarded RSNA Resident Grant

Jennifer Stanley, MD, PhD, Holman Pathway resident, has been awarded a Research Resident/Fellow Grant from RSNA for her work “Exploiting Radiation Induced Anti-tumor Immunity in Advanced-stage and Metastatic Ovarian Cancer”.

Thank you for your leadership Dr. Mutic

After 24 years at Washington University School of Medicine, Dr. Sasa Mutic will be leaving to help lead Varian. He will be greatly missed by our department and University!

Curiel receives LEAP Gap Award

David Curiel, MD, PhD – Professor of Radiation Oncology has received a LEAP Gap Award.

An approach to facilitate the promising cancer immunotherapy “CAR-T” that makes it cheaper and more patient-accessible.

Chen awarded RSNA & TL1 grants

Medical student Kevin Chen, who is a member of the Chaudhuri Lab, has been awarded a highly prestigious RSNA medical student grant.

Separately, Kevin was accepted into the highly prestigious TL1 predoctoral clinical research program to help support his year of research.

Changes to administrative leadership roles

We are pleased to announce two exciting changes to administrative leadership roles of clinical services.
Dr. Hyun Kim has accepted the role for Chief of the GI service, and Dr. Brian Baumann has accepted the role for Chief of the GU service. Both are effective April, 2020.

Curiel and DeSelm receive grant

David T, Curiel, MD, PhD, and Carl DeSelm, MD, PhD have been awarded a grant through a private donation administered by the Goldman Sachs Foundation for their work entitled “In vivo generation of CAR T-cells for cancer immunotherapy”. They will receive $200,000 for their research over two years.

Spraker receives grant

Matthew Spraker, MD, PhD, has received a grant award from a private donation administered by the Goldman Sachs Foundation for his work entitled “LITE SABR M2:  A phase II trial of palliative Lattice SBRT”. He will receive $156,628 over two years for his research.

Altman receives prestigious award

Michael Altman, PhD, DABR,has been selected as a recipient of the 2020 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award! This award is given every year by the Graduate Student Senate. Michael was nominated by Lifei Zhu. Congratulations Michael!

Zhang awarded grant from ICTS

Tiezhi Zhang, PhD, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, has been awarded a grant for Proton Imaging Devices from the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences for $50,000 beginning March 1, 2020.

Harold Li, PhD named fellow of AAPM

Harold Li, PhD, has been selected as an AAPM Fellow and will be honored at #AAPMCOMP2020 in Vancouver, BC this summer. Congratulations, Harold!

Chaudhuri receives grant from ICTS

Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology (Cancer Biology Division), Genetics (by Courtesy) and Computer Science & Engineering (by Courtesy) has received a grant award from the Institute of Clinical and Translational Sciences. The award is for $50,000 over 1 year for researching “Urine tumor DNA as a biomarker for bladder sparing approaches to bladder cancer”.

Badiyan receives grant for pilot trial

Shahed Badiyan, MD, Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, has received a grant award for $188,189 over two years from the Barnes Jewish Hospital Foundation. This is for his work entitled “A Pilot Trial of Cardiac Rehabilitation for Patients with Lung or Esophageal Cancer Receiving Definitive Radiation Therapy”. Grant start date is January 1, 2020.

Chaudhuri receives grant for unique approach to advanced prostate cancer

Assistant Professor Aadel Chaudhuri, MD, PhD, along with Christopher Maher, PhD, and Russell Pachynski, MD, have received $600K from Siteman Cancer Center Fund for their innovative approach to detect a type of advanced prostate cancer

Dr. Curiel Receives Multiple Grant Awards for Genome Editing

Dr. David Curiel has received multiple research grants from the NIH, including: $1.46M over 4 years for “Novel Vector Platform for Gene Therapy”, $3.3M over 3 years for “A 3D In Vitro Disease Model of Atrial Conduction”, and $2.2M over 3 years for “Endothelial-Targeted Adenovirus for Organ-Selective Gene Editing In Vivo”

Fiona Ruiz receives her PhD

Congratulations to our newest PhD! Dr. Fiona Ruiz successfully defended her thesis on Thursday, November 14, 2019.  Dr. Ruiz’s thesis, Investigating biological mechanisms of radiation resistance in advanced stage cervical cancer, was completed under the direction of Julie Schwarz, MD, PhD, Vice Chair for Research and Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology.